Oregon Highway Use Tax Surety Bond

Oregon bases its highway-use tax on the number of miles traveled in Oregon and the weight of the vehicle. Oregon uses the tax to pay for highway construction, maintenance, and repairs.  All operators with a gross weight in excess of 26,000 pounds are required to post Highway Use Tax Surety Bond to guarantee the payment of the required taxes.  Initial bond requests are based on the number of vehicles enrolled or operated in Oregon in the previous 12 months.   

Bonds up to $25,000 are instant issue, no underwriting and no indemnity agreement required, simply fill out the application, pay for your bond and download a copy of your bond!  

New Operators are required to post a bond in an amount of 

  • One Vehicle -  $2,000 Oregon Highway Use Tax Bond 
  • Plus $375 for each additional vehicle from 2-5 Vehicles
  • Plus $250 for each additional vehicle from 6-10 Vehicles
  • Plus $125 for each additional vehicle above 10 Vehicles

With a maximum bond amount required of $10,000

Established Operators are required to post a bond in an amount determined by a review of department records or as specified below, whichever is greater. 

  • One Vehicle - $2,000 Oregon Highway Use Tax Bond 
  • Plus $750 for each additional vehicle from 2-5 Vehicles
  • Plus $500 for each additional vehicle from 6-10 Vehicles
  • Plus $250 for each additional vehicle above 10 Vehicles

With a maximum bond amount required of $20,000

For private carriers, carriers that operate under ORS 825.020 or farmers issued permits under ORS 825.024 who operate motor vehicles weighing under 55,000 pounds that use gasoline on which gasoline tax provided by law has been paid to the State of Oregon

  • One Vehicle - $500 Oregon Highway Use Tax Bond
  • Plus $150 for each additional vehicle

With a maximum bond amount required of $10,000

For private carriers, carriers that conduct operations under ORS 825.020 or farmers issued permits under 825.024 who operate motor vehicles weighing under 55,000 pounds that use any fuel other than gasoline or use gasoline on which gasoline tax provided by law has not been paid to the State of Oregon:

  • One Vehicle - $750 Oregon Highway Use Tax Bond
  • Plus $225 for each additional vehicle

With a maximum bond amount required of $15,000

How do I get an Oregon (OR) Highway Use Tax Surety Bond?

A1SuretyBonds.com has simplified the process of getting you bonded.  Our online application process takes less than 2 minutes to complete and once we receive payment, your bond is issued and sent out to you the same day.  Apply for your Oregon Highway Use Tax Surety Bond today!

**INSTANT ISSUE Bonds can be paid for and printed out immediately following completion of the Application**

How much does an Oregon (OR) Highway Use Tax Surety Bond Cost?

The base rate for the Oregon Highway Use Tax Bond averages around 2% of the required bond amount with a minimum charge of $100 for a 1 year bond term.